Caramel Apple Red Tea Macarons with Fleur de Sel Caramel Filling

International Incident Party - Salt

International Incident Party - Salt

This month’s International Incident Party ingredient:  SALT

Inspired by Pierre Herme’s Salted Caramel and Apple Macarons, I layered this creation using The Republic of Tea’s caffeine-free Caramel Apple Red Tea to flavor the shells.

For the partially dried apples, I followed Edd Kimber’s recipe and directions.

Coincidentally, he posted Frivolite about the same time last year!

Fluer de Sel Caramel Filling

Ingredients

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 teaspoon fleur de sel
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup (this will prevent crystallization of sugar)
  • 1/4 cup water (to get more tea flavor, infuse two (2) tea bags in 1/4 cup water)

Directions

  1. Bring cream, butter, and fleur de sel to a boil in a small saucepan, then remove from heat and set aside.
  2. Boil sugar, corn syrup, and water in a 3- to 4-quart heavy saucepan, stirring until sugar is dissolved.
  3. Boil, without stirring but gently swirling pan, until mixture is a light golden caramel.
  4. Carefully stir in cream mixture (mixture will bubble up) and simmer, stirring frequently, until caramel registers 248°F on thermometer, 10 to 15 minutes.
  5. Pour into small bowl and cool 2 hours.
  6. Pipe onto macarons to make sandwiches.
Apples, Moonglow Gardens

Apples, Moonglow Gardens

Fleur De Sel Caramel, Moonglow Gardens

Fleur De Sel Caramel, Moonglow Gardens

Caramel Apple Red Tea Macarons, Moonglow Gardens

Caramel Apple Red Tea Macarons, Moonglow Gardens

This entry was posted in Desserts, Macarons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Caramel Apple Red Tea Macarons with Fleur de Sel Caramel Filling

  1. I want to stick my mouth under that trickling caramel until it is dribbling down my chin 😀

  2. Conor, thanks for stopping by! When that was happening, caramel was still a bit on the HOT side :-).

  3. Pretty macarons and I’m liking the sound of that flavour combination!

  4. Leaf, thanks. I get inspired with whatever’s in season and with whatever new favorite tea I’m enjoying.

  5. Hot or not, I am with Conor on wanting to DRINK that caramel. I toyed with the idea of macarons for this challenge too but I combined Mactweets with last month’s IIP so had to think of something else. Glad someone brought macs to the party!

  6. Lala says:

    i’ve never made these things but i sure would like to try these! nom-nom-nom!! my teeth wants to be sunk into them puppies!

  7. msihua says:

    They look so pretty and gorgeous! I shan’t attempt them, as I’ve tried and failed once before (macarons), so I shall just look at them with envy!!! Yum!

  8. Maya says:

    I’m so scared of failed macarons that I haven’t even attempted to make them yet! Perhaps one day… in the meantime, I’m just going to admire yours. They look so perfect and utterly tempting!

  9. Trix says:

    I have not seen this flavor combination in macarons before – very clever and delicious!

  10. i want to stick my finger into that oozing caramel… and run away with the plate of your Caramel Apple Red Tea Macarons haha.. that sounded like so childish..

    Ok take two: I want to enjoy these Caramel Apple Red Tea Macarons with you over coffee in a table tucked under tree, chatting, talking, giggling.. oh annapet i’ve missed you! haha!

  11. robin says:

    anything with caramel is a winner in my book. ANYTHING. 😉

  12. Oh WOW… you always make me drool. I wish I could make macarons!

  13. arthur says:

    Wonderful recipe for macarons! Your photo of the caramel is perfect! Just the right consistency for a sweet tooth like me. Thanks for sharing! Cheers!

  14. Matthew says:

    The caramel filling looks awesome.

    Matthew

Leave a comment