Lavender Party

Lavender on Foodista

International Incident Party - Lavender

International Incident Party - Lavender


Lavender Creme Brulee, Moonglow Gardens

Lavender Creme Brulee, Moonglow Gardens

With the strange weather we have been experiencing in California, my lavender harvest extended through fall.  You won’t hear me complaining.

My sincerest thanks for the warm welcome.

I usually divide and replant lavender this season to make room for more next spring.  Cooking with lavender piqued my interest,  suddenly becoming food for thought after Cherrie caught my garden posts about lavandins.  A few more tweets later, Carol chimed in, and with Penny, they invited me to participate.

I had imagined Lala giggling the whole time we discussed lavender everything.  Two kids in the back trying so hard not to burst into laughter letting the secret lavender dishes out.

Over the last two weeks, I experimented with lavender, using the fragrant herb with restraint.  I wanted to try a few things except making soap.

Lavender Sugar, Moonglow Gardens

Lavender Sugar, Moonglow Gardens

Lavender Sugar

Ingredients

  • buds from 8 stalks fresh lavender
  • 1 cup sugar

Directions

  1. Combine sugar and lavender in an airtight jar.
  2. Shake well to combine.
  3. Store in a dark place for about two (2) weeks.

Lavender Crème Brulée

Ingredients

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons fresh culinary lavender
  • 8 egg yolks, reserving egg whites for macarons
  • 1/3 cup granulated lavender sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup lavender sugar (for the caramelized tops)

Directions

  1. One day before making creme brulee, in a small bowl, combine cream and lavender.  Cover and refrigerate for 8 to 12 hours.
  2. Microwave for a minute.  Strain the cream into a small saucepan, pressing on the lavender to extract all the liquid; discard the lavender.
  3. Preheat oven to 300ºF.  In a large bowl, whisk together egg yolks and sugar until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture is thick and pale yellow.
  4. Add cream and vanilla, and continue to whisk until well blended.
  5. Strain into a large bowl, skimming off any foam or bubbles.
  6. Divide mixture among 6 ramekins or custard cups.
  7. Place ramekins in a water bath (large pan filled with 1 or 2 inches of hot water) and bake until set around the edges, but still loose in the center, about 50 to 60 minutes.
  8. Remove from oven and leave in the water bath until cooled.
  9. Remove cups from water bath and chill for at least 2 hours, or up to 2 days.
  10. When ready to serve, sprinkle about 2 teaspoons of lavender sugar over each custard.
Lavender Creme Brulee, Moonglow Gardens

Lavender Creme Brulee, Moonglow Gardens

This entry was posted in Desserts, Moonglow Gardens, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Lavender Party

  1. Wow this is beautiful! I bet it tasted great too. Welcome to IIP!

  2. This is beautiful! I am going to make some lavender sugar…. Thanks for joining us! :D

  3. This is one of my fave desserts, I cannot imagine how much better it is with a hint of lavender. Sounds awesome.

  4. msihua says:

    Oh wow! This is amazing!! Well done you!

  5. Lovely looking creme brulee! And I love your photos (I am especially coveting that leaf doily)

  6. Lala says:

    nom nom nom! so glad you made this one. i’m just sad i don’t get to taste it. it’s soooo going on my #puttingout4food list! LOL

    yay for lavender!

  7. Caryn says:

    I love creme brulee and I love the sound of adding lavender sugar! Sounds and looks gorgeous!

  8. I love creme brulee!! Must try to infuse it with lavender. Thanks for sharing this brilliant idea!

  9. I love the smell and taste of lavender sugar and its addition to this creme brulee recipe must make it taste truly heavenly! I’ll make my lavender eclairs for you if you promise to send over some of this gorgeous brulee!

  10. Mmm creme brulee is my favourite dessert~ Your photos look great too! Thanks for sharing :)

  11. Jun Belen says:

    I’ve always loved the scent of lavender but have never used it in the kitchen, never baked or cooked with it. But I think I know where to start — lavender sugar! Thank you for the inspiration, Annapet.

  12. H Annapet! I’m trying to get back into blogging again.. and this is one of the first comment I posted in months… im glad i came here first… your lavander creme brulee looks like it was made for me haha… i like your new look too.. very refreshing!

  13. Mary says:

    So beautiful and delish. Great way to capture the last bit of summer.

  14. What a lovely creme brulee and you got to use lavender from your own garden! I’d like to be able to grow them myself soon. Maybe then I’ll make soap with it, too hehe. I’m glad you were able to make this party, hope to see you again next month? (Now about Kulinarya Cooking Club.)

  15. Thank you everyone for stopping by and leaving a comment on my FIRST IIP post.

    Carol – I grow everything in containers, and lavenders do well in them, as long as the potting soil has good drainage! When you move here, I’ll divide some plants for you!

    Mary – Indeed! The strange summer we had is still giving me presents!

    Malou – You making my blog one of your first stops mean so much! I cannot wait for your new posts!

    Jun – What? Ninang inspired you? Wow, I am so flattered. Lavender single-handedly attracted bees to my garden. I hope you’ll grow a pot or two.

    Judy – Imagine what I can do after a photo seminar with Jun! Have you met?

    Maya – Deal! I’m a little embarrassed making the easiest dessert in the world.

    Ellie – Infusing lavender in cream is a favorite now. Oh, and even with tea…you can see pigment diffusing into the hot water. Ooops, my geeky side is showing.

    Caryn – Lavender sugar is so easy! Now using it in macarons, too. Very subtle for layering flavors.

    Lala – Glad you brought Creme Brulee up!

    Honey – The leaf doily is from a trip to Paris 9 years ago. There is a shop about 2 blocks from Notre Dame specializing in party favors. It is by far the most exquisite party favor place I have seen.

    msihua – I enjoy playing with the color palette.

    Evelyne – HINT is key, I believe. Lavender can be overpowering.

    Penny – The pleasure is all mine. Thanks again.

    Mardi – I hope you’ll try this recipe! I like it since it’s not too sweet.

    Many, many thanks!

  16. I was so inspired to make something with lavender this summer that I bought a plant. Shame on me, though, for neglecting it the last month or so. Amazingly, it’s still doing okay, so I just might follow your lead and try some recipes (yours) next season. :-)

  17. Jean, that’s the beauty of perennials! Don’t worry, it’s hard to kill lavender plants. Thanks for stopping by!

  18. Cherrie says:

    Annapet, I’m glad you were able to make it to the party. I almost made creme brulee too but went a different root. And good for you for making something out of your comfort zone. :) See you at the next party.

  19. It was a lot of fun, Cherrie! Thanks to you for noticing I’m growing lavandins here! I do get carried away with plants. Now on to SALT!

  20. My friend in San Fran just gave a container of lavender salt, which I’m obsessed with. I bet this lavender sugar adds incredible depth to the creme brulee

  21. Lala says:

    i was looking at your goodie list again, and i forgot about the soap reference! lol yeah…lavender soap will just make u smell a few decades older. not that that’s a bad thing, but that #puttingout4food list might get ignored, lol!

  22. I am glad you found me because now I found you!
    This year is the first year I tried cooking with lavender…after reading Local Kitchens post on making Apple Jelly with Lavender…I tried it and it is beautiful. Just the perfect hint of lavender without being over-powering. A jelly well worth making. I am going to post it either today or tomorrow. I am still experimenting with beer!
    I know what you mean about the squirrels…that happened to us last year. Thankfully, last winter we had a fox take up residence here and he/she kind of fixed our problem.

Leave a Reply

