Basil ‘Genovese’

Genovese Basil on Foodista

One of my favorite herbs to grow, basil not only fills the room with its aromatic bouquet, it also germinates easily.  I find myself growing basil  year-round for my own use and for friends.   Basil makes great companion plant to tomato, and in the kitchen they produce an even better harmony.

Right before summer ends, a new flat of basil gets started sometimes under lights, and often right outside to bask in the morning sun.  Once the seeds have sprouted, I move them inside to grow under lights (just so they don’t get leggy).

Earlier this morning I potted up these beauties to brighten up the kitchen.  Though the pot looks crowded now, soon I will have just a few plants to use to last a season.

Basil 'Genovese' at Moonglow Gardens

Basil 'Genovese' at Moonglow Gardens

This entry was posted in Moonglow Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Basil ‘Genovese’

  1. Beautiful! I wish I could grow basil in a pot. I’ve had a terrible time trying!

  2. girlichef says:

    What an absolutely gorgeous variety of tomato!! I love Cherokee Purples, and you’re right, these resemble them greatly =)

    • Last year, one tomato grower declared that if he’s only growing one tomato variety, Indian Stripe would be it. I obviously had to try and I’m not disappointed! Thanks for stopping by and best of luck on PFB2010!

  3. linda says:

    That’s a beautiful basil plant! None of my seeds sprouted this spring, and I ended up putting a pot of basil I’d overwintered indoors back into the garden. I don’t think I’ll bring it in again, but it was wonderful being able to get two years of beautiful basil for the kitchen from it.

    • Thanks, Linda! Wow, did you suspect something ate the seeds? Thanks for stopping by. My fall planting is delayed due to the strange weather we’re having. I hope you are enjoying the season.

Leave a Reply

